Another County Added to the List of Livestock Friendly Counties in Nebraska


Dodge County has been added to the list of livestock friendly counties in Nebraska.

Lt.Gov. Lavon Heidemann announced Wednesday the official designation of Dodge Countyas Nebraska's newest Livestock Friendly County.

With the addition of DodgeCounty, 23 Nebraska counties have been named as such. Including: Adams, Banner, Box Butte, Cuming, Dawes, Deuel, Gage,Garden, Grant, Hitchcock, Holt, Jefferson, Johnson, Kimball, Keith, Lincoln,Morrill, Saline, Scotts Bluff, Sheridan, Wayne, and Webster Counties.

"I'mpleased that Dodge County has worked hard to become a Livestock FriendlyCounty," said Lt. Gov. Heidemann. "This program is a way to recognize theimpact the livestock industry has on the local economy. Agriculture is thenumber one industry in Nebraska and with the help of the Livestock Friendlyprogram, it will continue to thrive."

The county will receive road signs bearing the programlogo to display along highways.

The program is coordinated by the NebraskaDepartment of Agriculture.

Toapply for a livestock friendly county designation, the county board must hold apublic hearing and pass a resolution to apply. The Department of Agriculture review then reviews the completed application.

Local producers or communitygroups can encourage their county board to submit a livestock friendly countyapplication.

Additionalinformation on the Livestock Friendly County program is available by contactingNDA toll free at 800-422-6692, or by visiting the Department of Agriculturewebsite and clickingthe Livestock Friendly County link.