Carrie Hofstetter Wins Regional Award


ATLANTA (March 18, 2014) – The Women's Basketball CoachesAssociation (WBCA) announced today the four 2014 Russell Athletic/WBCA NationalAssociation of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) Regional Coaches of the Year,all of whom are finalists for the inaugural Pat Summitt Trophy to be presentedto the 2014 Russell Athletic/WBCA NAIA National Coach of the Year.

They are:

  • Region 1 – Russ Davis, Vanguard University
  • Region 2 – Carrie Hofstetter, Hastings College
  • Region 3 – Dale Neal, Freed-Hardeman University
  • Region 4 – Thomas Megyesi, Purdue University, Calumet

The2014 Russell Athletic/WBCA NAIA National Coach of the Year will be named duringthe fourth annual WBCA Awards Show on Monday, April 7, in the Omni NashvilleHotel's Broadway Ballroom. This event is part of the WBCA National Conventionand is held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women's Final Four® in Nashville.

"The WBCA congratulates these coaches on being named finalists for the PatSummitt Trophy presented to the 2014 Russell Athletic/WBCA Junior/CommunityCollege National Coach of the Year," said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. "Each coachhelped lead their team to an outstanding season and was selected by their peersto be candidates for this honor. On behalf of the WBCA and its members, I wishall of these finalists the best of luck at the WBCA Awards show in Nashville."

This is the first year the physical award presented to the six RussellAthletic/WBCA National Coaches of the Year has borne Summitt's name. It will bethe only national coach of the year award to do so. The legendary University ofTennessee head coach, who stepped down in April 2012, is the winningestbasketball coach (men's or women's) in NCAA Division I history with 1,098career victories. Summitt led the Lady Vols to eight NCAA Division I nationalchampionships and was named the Russell Athletic/WBCA NCAA Division I NationalCoach of the Year three times in her career.

"We would like to congratulate these coaches for being named finalists forthe 2014 Russell Athletic/WBCA NCAA Division I Coach of the Year Award," said SeniorVice President General Manager of Russell Athletic, Robby Davis. "Each of thesecoaches embodies the team concept we embrace at our Company, and we are pleasedto honor them for a fantastic season."

Russell Athletic and the WBCA present the national coach of the year awardannually in each of the six WBCA membership divisions (NCAA Divisions I, II andIII; NAIA; junior/community college and high school). This is the 30th yearsince 1983 that the WBCA has presented this honor to an NAIA head coach. For alist of past recipients, visit