Vavricek, GI City Council Face More Challengers on Ballot


      Just before the deadline, a third candidate has filed for mayor in Grand Island, and he has a history of fielding a winning team.

      Financial advisor, and Grand Island Senior High soccer coach Jeremy Jensen filed Monday afternoon, on the last day to file for office.

      With the exception of Grand Island City Councilman Vaughn Minton, every single seat on the Grand Island City Council and Hall County Board are now contested.

      Mayor of Grand Island

      • Jay Vavricek
      • Chuck Haase
      • Jeremy L. Jensen

      Grand Island City Council

      Ward 1

      • Vaughn Minton

      Ward 2

      • Roger G. Steele
      • Karen Bredthauer

      Ward 3

      • Linna Dee Donaldson
      • Clarence R. Stephens

      Ward 4

      • Mitchell Nickerson
      • Brian Whitecalf

      Ward 5

      • John Gericke
      • Michelle Fitzke

      Hall County Board:

      • District 1 David E. Ziola / Republican
      • Doug Lanfear / Republican

      District 3

      • Stephen Schuppan / Republican
      • Robert M. Humiston / Republican

      District 5

      • Robert McFarland / Republican
      • Patrick C. O'Neill / Democrat
      • Jane Jeffries Richardson / Republican

      District 7

      • Scott Arnold / Republican
      • Dianne M. Schneider / Democrat