Disaster Declaration Issued for Areas Impacted by Early June Storms

President Barack Obama has approved a disaster declaration for some Nebraska counties hit by severe storms from June 1-4.

Federal funding is available for state and local governments, as well as certain nonprofit organizations to help repair or replace facilities that were damaged by tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding during that time period.

Federal funding is also available on a cost–sharing basis for hazard prevention measures statewide.

Counties included in the declaration are: Burt, Butler, Cass, Hamilton, Holt, Nemaha, Pawnee, Polk, Rock, Thurston, Valley and Washington.

Additional designations may be made at a later date, according to the Federal Emergency Management Agency.