Heineman Receives Nominees for 2nd, 5th Judicial District Judgeships


Two judicial nominating commissions have sent Gov. Dave Heineman the nominees from their respective judicial districts from which he will choose a district judge.

The Judicial Nominating Commission for the County Court in the 5th Judicial District has forwarded the names of three nominees to the governor for his consideration as he fills the seat left vacant by the retirement of Judge Curtis H. Evans.

The nominees are Thomas J. Klein, of Wahoo, James C. Stecker, of Columbus, and Stephen R.W. Twiss, of Central City.

The 5th Judicial District consists of Boone, Butler, Colfax, Hamilton, Merrick, Nance, Platte, Polk, Saunders, Seward and York Counties.

The commission for the 2nd Judicial District also forwarded three nominees to Heineman. Those nominees seeking to fill the position left vacant due to the retirement of Judge Randall Rehmeier are Jeffrey J.Funke of Nebraska City, Stefanie A. Martinez of Omaha, and George A. Thompson of Papillion.

The 2nd Judicial District consists of Cass, Sarpy and Otoe Counties.

Heineman will schedule interviews with nominees in the coming weeks.