New Members Selected for Ag Youth Council


Twenty-one college-aged men and women have been selected as members of the 2013-2014 Nebraska Agricultural Youth Council.

Gov. Dave Heineman announced the names of the members Wednesday, saying the council is made up of college-aged students from around the state that exhibit and promote a passion for agriculture and educating others about the agriculture industry.

"It's an exciting time to be involved in the agriculturalindustry, and each of these young adults has exhibited a passion for educatingothers about the importance of agriculture," said Gov. Heineman. "These are thefuture leaders of our agricultural industry, and I am excited to see what thesestudents accomplish during the upcoming year on the Nebraska Agricultural YouthCouncil."

This is the 43rd year for the council, which coordinates agricultural experiences for youth across the state. Such experiences include: visiting classrooms to discuss where food comes from, taking urban youth to see farms and what a day in the life of a farmer is like.

However, the primary focus of the NAYC is to coordinate the annual Nebraska Agricultural Youth Institute, a five day conference for current high school juniors and seniors.

The 2013-2014NAYC leaderships includes: Emma Likens, Swanton, Head Counselor; Will Miller,Culbertson, Head Counselor; Alyssa Dye, Alliance, President; Lauren Ibach,Sumner , Secretary; Samantha Schneider, Cozad, Vice President of theCommunications and Social Media Committee; Trent Mastny, Howell, Vice Presidentof the NAYI Improvement Committee; Michelle Dvoracek, Elba, Vice President ofthe Promotion Committee; Aksel Wiseman, Hershey, Vice President of theSponsorship and Alumni Relations Committee; and Larissa Wach, Wauneta, VicePresident of the Youth Outreach Committee.

Additionalmembers are: Davis Behle, Kearney; Trevor DeVries, Fairfield;Johnny Ference, Ord; Steven Fish, Imperial; HannahGaebel, Ashland; Haley Harthoorn, Ainsworth;Jud Hoffschneider, Arlington; Toni Rasmussen, Albion; Elizabeth Rice, Murray;Railen Ripp, Kearney; EricWemhoff, Humphrey; and Morgan Zumpfe, Friend.