Northeast, South-Central Nebraska Receive Funding from Affordable Housing Trust Fund


Several non-profit housing and economic development organizations in northeast and south-central Nebraska will receive a portion of a total $800,000 awarded by the Nebraska Department of Economic Development.

The grant money comes from its Affordable Housing Trust Fund and will go toward helping eligible homeowners within disaster-declared areas make repairs and cover costs related to recent storm damage.

The Northeast Nebraska Development District will receive $320,000 to assist homeowners in Stanton, Cuming and Thurston counties, which includes the communities of Stanton, Pilger and Wisner.

Blue Valley Community Action Agency and Southeast Nebraska Affordable Housing Council will each receive $160,000 to serve homeowners in Fillmore and Seward counties, which includes the communities of Beaver Crossing, Cordova and Sutton.

The remaining funds will be awarded according to the greatest need.

Qualifying homeowners may receive up to $10,000 in individual NAHTF grants for eligible repairs and costs. Homeowners in these areas should apply directly to the organizations serving their communities.

Some qualifications must be met in order to receive grants. These restrictions state that homeowners:

  • Must earn an annual income at or below $77,520 (regardless of family size);
  • Provide proof of ownership of the unit;
  • Have had an active homeowner’s insurance policy effective the date that damage from the disaster occurred; and
  • Provide proof of an active flood insurance policy effective the date that damage from the disaster occurred IF the unit is located within a FEMA defined “Special Flood Hazard Area.”
Additional assistance may be available from the Federal Emergency Management Agency and the U.S. Small Business Administration.