President Issues Disaster Declaration for Areas Impacted by June Storms


President Barack Obama has issued a disaster declaration for the state of Nebraska, ordering federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in areas hit by severe storms that included tornadoes and strong straight-line winds from June 14 to June 21.

Federal funding also is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations in a dozen counties including Cedar, Cuming, Dakota, Dixon, Franklin, Furnas, Harlan, Kearney, Phelps, Stanton, Thurston and Wayne counties. The funds may be used for emergency work and for repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe weather.

"We appreciate the approval of the disaster declaration for public assistance," Gov. Dave Heineman said following notification of the approval. "The federal government and local entities have been good partners working with the state as we assessed the severe and extensive damage that occurred throughout Nebraska. I am proud of Nebraskans for coming together and helping each other in challenging times."

Christian Van Alstyne, federal coordinating officer for recovery efforts in Nebraska, says additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.