New Child Safety Restraint Law in effect in the new year

New Child Safety Restraint Law in effect Janurary 1st. (NTV News)

With the start of the new year, a new child restrain law will go into effect.

The Nebraska safety council says this new law is designed to keep young children safer when traveling.


This new law will require all children up to age 8 years of age to ride in a car seat or booster seat in the back and will be effective January 1st.

Misty Zipf is a grandmother to a 1 year old now but when her own two children were young, they were involved in a major car accident. Thankfully, no one was hurt. and she credits that to the car seats the kids had.

"It was way better than not having anything," Zipf said.

However, when she heard about the new changes, she was unsure how she felt.

"I don't know if I like that or not. You know if it's for safety reasons, obviously, I would go with it. It means I might have to get some bigger booster seats. Because I know some 8 year old that are a 100 pounds," Zipf said.

According to the Nebraska Department of Transportation, other changes are as follows:

- A child up to 2 years of age must ride in a rear facing car seat in the back seat or until they reach an upper weight or height limit.

- Children under age eight must ride in the back seat, as long as there is a back seat equipped with a seatbelt and is not already occupied by other children under eight years of age.

- Children ages eight to eighteen must ride secured in a safety belt or child safety seat (booster seat).

-Childcare providers must transport all children securely in an appropriate federally-approved child safety seat or safety belt.

-Children up to age eighteen are prohibited from riding in cargo areas.

The bill can be found at this link.

Violations include a 25 dollar fine plus court costs and a point against your driving record.

NDOT says this law is only the minimum requirement.

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) - they recommend booster seats for kids up to 12 years of age for optimum safety.

Jenni Terman is another mother who is well aware of the current child car seat safety laws. She puts her 5 month old baby girl , Emerson, in a rear facing car seat.

The increase in age of the new law is also concerning for her.

"That's going to be a little difficult because they'd want to, you know, sit with other siblings and be independent. I don't know," Terman said.

Terman tells NTV the new law is making her stop and think about purchasing their next car seat.

"We were looking at getting one of the ones that they transition into. The one she can get into now and transition as she ages. But I guess we'll wait until the new laws come out," Termans said.

According to NHTSA, 59 percent of the time, children's car seats are used incorrectly - another concern.

Find out if you are using your car seat as instructed at the NHTSA website. They advise you to read all of the instructions for your car seat.


close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off

Trending